Home > Projects > 2017 Leadership Class

Download the 2017 DWLA Leadership Class Application HERE

DWLA Leadership Class is a DWLA initiative created to further its mission of elevating the standing of women in the legal profession. The leadership class will benefit women law students by providing students with the tools to develop the professional skills necessary for success and leadership positions in law, business, government, the nonprofit sector, and the judiciary.

The 2017 Leadership Class will meet for a mandatory Leadership Retreat from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on May 13, 2017. A series of two workshops will follow (one lunch and one evening workshop), featuring local and state leaders speaking on their personal experiences of women in leadership positions and their advice on developing the professional skills required to become and support women in leadership. Participation in the Leadership Class will greatly enhance your business contacts, equip you with the tools necessary for professional development, and will generally provide opportunities that would not have existed otherwise.

At the completion of the program, the class will organize a community-service project that achieves the purpose of elevating the standing of women in the legal profession. Applicants who attend school outside Dallas-Fort Worth understand that signing this application represents a commitment to assist the Class members with the planning and preparation of the service project and to return to DFW for completion of the service project in the Fall semester of 2017.

Applicants will be chosen based on their demonstrated commitment to elevating the standing of women in the legal profession. Each year DWLA will select approximately 12 (twelve) applicants to join its Leadership Class. The only eligibility requirements are: (1) that the applicant is in her first or second year of law school; and (2) either attends law school at SMU, TAMU, or UNT Dallas or has accepted an internship, externship, or clerkship in Dallas for the summer of 2017.